SAVE THE BAY: PRE-TRIP BLOGPOST

This Wednesday, AP Bio will be taking a trip to the San Francisco Baylands; I’ve been really excited about this for a while, not just because I haven’t been on a field trip for a few years, but also because I’ve never been on a field trip that involved working directly with the environment to improve habitats. We will be taking salinity/moisture readings and will give the data to Save the Bay afterwards; I hope that whatever data we collect will aid Save the Bay in making decisions that will benefit the environment!

I believe that field trips are great tools for learning because students are able to apply the concepts they’ve learned in class in the real world; after all, the primary purpose of getting an education in the first place is so that we can learn skills that we will eventually use in our daily lives. On this field trip, I hope to learn more about the environment and how we can help benefit habitats in other ways.

As a side note, I was looking through the Save the Bay website, and I read that some developers are seeking to construct luxury homes and a golf course on baylands; many people around the bay are protesting this since the construction would be undoubtedly harmful to bayland habitats. I personally think that financial pursuits are not worth the destruction that would come to the environment, and that the developers should respect the habitats and the opinions of Bay Area citizens. If you want to learn more about this issue and make a change, click the following link where you can find more information and sign a petition! http://www.savesfbay.org/vs-golf

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment